loader image

Possession of Marijuana

While possession of small amounts of marijuana is usually only punishable by fine in North Carolina, being caught with more than half an ounce can lead to more serious penalties, including jail time. If you have been arrested and charged with possession for marijuana, you need experienced representation from skilled Carteret County drug attorneys to protect yourself.

Wheatly Law Firm has many years of combined legal experience, which means we know just what it takes to beat your criminal charges. Attorney James Lupton has handles thousands of criminal cases and is a certified criminal law specialist by the North Carolina State Bar. You can trust our firm will work hard to protect your future when you are accused of a crime.

Fighting Your Drug Possession Charges

Although marijuana is classed as a Schedule VI substance, the least serious category according to state law, you will need an aggressive Carteret County defense lawyer to contest your charges to avoid potential consequences.

Possible punishments for marijuana possession can include:

  • Less than half an ounce—with a prior criminal record, you could spend up to 30 days in jail
  • Between ½ and 1 ½ ounce—up to 45 days in jail and up to $1,000 in fines
  • Over 1 ½ ounces—up to 12 months in prison

Even if these penalties are far less than those related to more dangerous and addictive substances such as cocaine or heroin, you face the prospect of ruining an otherwise clean record when you are charged with possession charges of marijuana.

Begin Your Defense Today

You need a skilled Carteret County drug crimes lawyer to protect your record when you are charged with possession, so do not hesitate to reach out to Wheatly Wheatly Weeks Lupton & Massie to challenge the case against you!

Contact Wheatly Law Firm at (252) 728-3158 to schedule a consultation